Pureed butternut squash

I’m back in the habit of visiting the farmer’s market every weekend.  Johnson’s Backyard Garden is just one of the vendors and they grow organic local produce. We had a CSA share with them for a month while I was pregnant in efforts to eat more veggies. I could not resist these butternut squash a few weeks back.  I got a wild hair and bought 10 lbs! Emmet got a big batch of baby food out of it and we roasted some for ourselves as well. Hang on, I should say I roasted some for myself because I was the only one who ate it.  I keep trying to will Dylan into eating more veggies so Emmet won’t have an excuse not to eat his when the time comes.  I am not winning that battle… yet.

Directions:
  • Remove the ends, halve the squash the long way and remove the seeds
  • Peel and cut into same size chunks
  • Steam the squash, reserving some of the remaining water
  • Puree the steamed squash using the remaining water to thin it out
I like to freeze my purees in 1 ounce cubes using these trays and then store them in a labeled ziplock freezer bag.

homemade babyfood

There was a cantaloupe in the background in that photo.  I also made some more popsicles for Emmet.  I used the same method found here.  The popsicles came in extremely handy as E cut his second tooth.  Yes, he has two now!

homemade baby food

Brain freeze.homemade baby food

One thought on “Pureed butternut squash

Leave a Reply

